Skip to main content


The Hellenic Society of Intraocular Implant and Refractive Surgery is the official scientific body of the Greek ophthalmic surgeons specializing in cataract and refractive surgery.


The purpose of the HSIOIRS is to disseminate knowledge in its field of interest

by organizing scientific conferences, clinical courses, wet labs, publishing scientific journals, as well as collaborating with other Greek and International scientific societies.

Since 1999 and every two years, HSIOIRS honors distinguished ophthalmologists from Greece and abroad by awarding the Kelman and Fyodorov Awards in honor of the pioneer ophthalmologist Charles Kelman and the Professor of Ophthalmology of the Russian Academy of Sciences Svyatoslav N. Fyodorov, respectively.


Is an active member of the European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS), with which HSIOIRS co-organized the 3rd, 11th, 20th and 23rd Winter Meeting of ESCRS in Athens in 1999, 2007, 2016 and 2019, respectively, while since 2010 participates in the European Quality Register for Surgical Results – EUREQUO (European Registry of Quality Outcomes for Cataract and Refractive Surgery).

40 Years HSIOIRS

The Hellenic Society of Intraocular Implant and Refractive Surgery was founded

by a group of pioneering ophthalmic surgeons, who specialized in cataract and refractive surgery, which was then in its first steps.


They organized the first HSIOIRS Conference

A year later, they organized the first HSIOIRS Conference, with the participation of internationally distinguished speakers.


Annual international Congress

The annual congress became international with the participation of delegates from abroad.


Co-organized the winter European Meeting

In 1999, 2007, 2016 and 2019 HSIOIRS co-organized the ESCRS Winter Meetings in Athens.


The most successful Greek Event

The Annual HSIOIRS Congress is considered the most successful Greek event in the field of Surgical Ophthalmology.


Past HSIOIRS Presidents

Michalis Tragakis (1984-1991)
Charalampos Efkarpidis (1991-1997)
Spyros Georgaras (1997-2003)
Vassilis Tsigos (2003-2006)
Ioannis Alexakis (2006-2007)

Pantelis Papadopoulos (2007-2011)
Ioannis Panagopoulos (2011-2015)
Spyros Georgaras (2015-2017)
Konstantina Koufala (2017-2019)
Miltos Balidis (2019-2023)

Board of Directors & Committees

Konstantinos Moschou
George Roussopoulos
General Secretary
Elisavet Patsoura
Dimitris Mikropoulos
Vassilis Karampatakis, George Kymionis, Apostolos Maniateas, Pantelis Papadopoulos, Petros Smachliou
Audit Committee
Ioannis Kotsiras
Ioanna Metaxaki
Andreas Papandroudis