History of HSIOIRS

37 YEARS HSIOIRS: 1984 – 2021

The Hellenic Society of Intraocular Implant and Refractive Surgery was founded in 1984 by a group of contemporary ophthalmic surgeons, who were involved in cataract and refractive surgery.

One year later, they organized the first annual meeting of the society, with the participation of Greek and foreign ophthalmologists.

The success of the first meeting helped in the establishment of the annual congress as one of the most important events in Greek Ophthalmology.

After 1998 the annual meeting became international with attendees from all over the world.

In 1999, 2007, 2016 and 2019 HSIOIRS co-organised the Winter meeting of ESCRS in Athens.

Today, it is considered the most successful Congress in the field of Ophthalmic Surgery in Greece.

HSIOIRS Past Presidents

Michalis Tragakis (1984-1991)

Charalambos Efkarpidis (1991-1997)

Spyros Georgaras (1997-2003)

Vasilios Tsingos (2003-2006)

Ioannis Alexakis (2006-2007)

Pandelis Papadopoulos (2007-2011)

Ioannis Panagopoulos (2011-2015)

Spyros Georgaras (2015-2017)

Konstantina Koufala (2017-2019)